BT prep Material: primary or supplementary?

sandeep_j

I'm looking to prepare for FRM Part I in Nov 14 and trying to figure out the study material I should be using.

I read elsewhere that BT provides useful material, excellent Q bank and a vibrant community. So it looks like a natural choice I should go with. However I'd like to find out how did successful people prepare for Part I exam and what prep material they used.

My background is in engineering (so not too bad in maths) and have decent understanding of finance market overall (though not much in risk management). I'm in full time employment. So I'm looking to find prep material with strong focus on actual exam questions.

Ideally I'd want only one prep provider who can teach me all the concepts I need from relatively basic to the level needed to pass the exam. I read elsewhere that books that GARP recommends should better be used as "reference" material as they are not exam focussed. However BT on it's website says that "BT notes Notes are not intended to teach all of the material for the first time". So my guess is many of you may have used some other books/courses to develop basic understanding then used BT notes for review purpose. Or are there people who think BT material on itself is elaborate enough to be a "primary" source for preparation? If not, what other books did you use?

Thanks

EO

Hi Sandeep_j, I was in the same situation: engineering background and working full-time, but I do work with risk management. I read Schweser books and worked on all BT's questions/exams. Passed level 1 on first quartile across all areas. Looking back, I see Schweser as totally unnecessary - it actually didnt have many important things... Focusing only on BT should be more than enough. Just make sure you read the entire material and do as many mock exams/questions as possible. Good luck!

sandeep_j

Hello EO,