Convexity and Volatility

GammaCurious

Hi everyone,

It's my first time posting but I've been reading the forums since I enrolled for the FRM part I more than a year ago and I wanted, before anything else, to thank you all, particularly David, for all the help I've gotten from such a knowledgeable and supportive community while studying for the exams. Really, you all have been incredible.

I imagine it being weird, a theory question right after the exam date, but this is something I couldn't really get while reading the curriculum but had to let go in order to finish the readings on time. Now, more free, I've been trying to make sense of it without much success, and that's why I finally decided to register and hope that some of you can make things clear for me.

So, onto the subject.
--------

Tuckman.Ch8 explains, among other things, how the uncertainty of interest rate expectations (volatility in the binomial tree) lowers yields and produces Convexity. The author even goes on to say that "the value of convexity increases with volatility". This one was one of the hardest concepts from the curriculum for me to understand (and a totally new one), but I think I got it after reading some threads here, playing with a couple of trees, and looking deeply at Jensen's inequality.