FRM Level 2, Nov 2012: Expected cutoff /passing score ( out of 80)

Hi all Part 2 takers,

Congratulations on surviving the four hours. I found them extremely stressful and demanding. Im not good at memorizing stuff, hence found the Part 1 exam easier than this one.( cleared in May 2012).

When I asked different people about the possible cutoff, I get opposite views. Some say that the Part 2 cutoff is usually low. Some say that the November Part 2 cutoffs are higher than May, because many CFA and management guys appear.

It would be great if you could share your thoughts on the possible absolute passing score (out of 80).

Regs
Nagesh

ShaktiRathore

Subscriber
Putting the benchmark at 70% out of total score of 80 we get 70% of 80=56. Hence to be on safer side you would need at-least 56/80 to pass the exam.But depending on the difficulty of the exam you can expect a downside of at most 10-15% which makes the passing score 85-90% of the total benchmark passing score 56 which is (85% of 56)-(90% of 56)=47.6- 50.4=47-51 which should be where the passing score must lie. I have made the adjustment of 10-15% and you can make this more or less based on the difficulty of the exam. I f you think the exam was relatively difficult than make the adjustment as 10-20% if you think it was on easier side than make it 5-15%. Its like valuation of securities you want to determine the exact value of security but it all depends on how accurate your assumptions are.
Based on internet research i came to know that historically if i am not incorrect than the average passing score has never been greater than 70% of the total marks.So if you are falling in the range 47-51 you can hope to pass.

thanks

Hi, I gave the FRM L2 and am v poor at memorizinig the rules especially the BASEL tier, groups, MVAR rules etc and have high chances to miss it this time.