Newbie needs help

Lenka2019

Hello, I just started my learning journey today, however, It seemed to be tough. After having finished reading the chapter 1 of the offically issued textbook, I did the questions at the end of this chapter. I just got 50% correct..... I am a newbie and need helps. Could you please help me to explain following questions:
Page 27
1.16 Why aren't the banking regulators encouraging tools that support using advanced analystical formulas to calculate regulatory operational risk capital?
1.21 Business risk involves making large, long-term decisions about the firm's direction, often accompanied by major investment of capital, human resources, and management reputation._______Why is this false?
1.22 Enterprise Risk Management is the management of risk at the business unit level.________Why is this false?
1.23 Why is securitation a mechanism to transfer risk to third party? I think the answer should be Insurance.
1.26 Tail risk techniques are dealt by Extreme Value Theory. _________ I can't tell the differences of Extreme Value theory, VAR, and Probably of default theory.
1.31 Could you please explain the purpose of economic capital, why isn't is to absorb unexpected loss and tail loss?
:(

Nicole Seaman

Director of CFA & FRM Operations
Staff member
Subscriber
Hello, I just started my learning journey today, however, It seemed to be tough. After having finished reading the chapter 1 of the offically issued textbook, I did the questions at the end of this chapter. I just got 50% correct..... I am a newbie and need helps. Could you please help me to explain following questions:
Page 27
1.16 Why aren't the banking regulators encouraging tools that support using advanced analystical formulas to calculate regulatory operational risk capital?
1.21 Business risk involves making large, long-term decisions about the firm's direction, often accompanied by major investment of capital, human resources, and management reputation._______Why is this false?