Practice Exams & Questions

banerjeea

Hi David,

I was going through the practice exams and questions for the different modules. I think the questions are very good. Though some of the questions I felt are too long to be solved under two mins. A two period option pricing problem for a dividend paying stock is a stretch in the exam. I am new to this so I may be wrong here. I think the questions need to conceptual so that it shows that the candidate have understood the material rather than test whether they can do a laborious calculation. For example, Hull 13.6 is a great question (except part b).

Any comments or suggestions will be very helpfull.

Thanks,
Banerjar

David Harper CFA FRM

David Harper CFA FRM
Subscriber
Banerjar,

Thanks for liking the questions...

Re: "Though some of the questions I felt are too long to be solved under two mins" That is absolutely *true* of many of my questions
A fully fleshed two-step binomial binomial is a good example: it will not be tested wholesale.
More likely (e.g.,) would be for the exam to give you the binomial tree and ask for calcuation of a single node.

Re: "I think the questions need to conceptual so that it shows that the candidate have understood the material rather than test whether they can do a laborious calculation"

Here is what Chris Donohue (MD, GARP research) recently wrote to me, in this regard (copied with permission):
"I can say that the objective of the FRM is not to have candidates memorize complex formulas simply to demonstrate that they have a good memory – the ideal questions will test that a candidate understands the concept, its application, strengths, limitations, how a measure might change as inputs change, etc. There is always debate on where to draw the line (i.e., what is too complex) and hopefully the practice exams give you and your customers an indication of roughly where that line is. Sorry that I can’t be more specific but hopefully you understand."