What's new

Relative VaR & tracking error

David Harper CFA FRM

David Harper CFA FRM
Staff member
Subscriber
Lee just asked me about relative VaR as discussed in this fine article: http://www.financewise.com/public/edit/riskm/rmforinvestors/rmforinvestors-models.htm .

His question here:

"Dear David- I am currently studying for 2007 FRM exam and trying to read articles as to
VAR and other FRM-related articles. In last weekend, I found one interesting article (please refer the
following link) but I couldn't’t figure out how those figures came up with.

http://www.financewise.com/public/edit/riskm/rmforinvestors/rmforinvestors-models.htm

Can you take a look at Table F (Performance year to date 2000, Jan 1-Oct
25) and Table G (Relative VAR) and teach me how to calculate those figures?
I tried numerous different approach but couldn't’t figure out the methodology methodology by now."

Lee - While this is a good article, I recommend you avoid it in favor of the assigned readings: Linda Allen Chapter 1 for VaR (but also Jorion, of course) and Noel Amenc Chapter 4 for Tracking Error. Just to be pragmatic. The problem is that, for both of these terms (relative VaR and tracking error), people can have different definitions. As your article does. So, I didn't check the calculations, but here is some high-level help (I hope):

Relative versus Absolute VaR